Associated Faculty By Name

Printer-friendly version
 
  • Emily Albu (Classics) emalbu@ucdavis.edu Interests: Norman historical writing; religions, literatures, and societies in the twelfth century; Byzantium and the west; the classical tradition; medieval cartography.

  • Beverly Bossler (History; Program in East Asian Studies) bjbossler@ucdavis.edu Interests: Gender, family, and cultural history in the Song and Yuan dynasties

  • Katharine Burnett (East Asian Languages and Cultures; Art History) kpburnett@ucdavis.edu Interests: Chinese art history, 16th and 17th centuries.

  • Anna Maria Busse Berger (Music) amberger@ucdavis.edu Interests: Medieval and Renaissance music history and theory; notation, mensuration and proportion signs; music and memory; mathematics and music.

  • Joan Cadden (Emerita - History; Science and Technology Studies Program) jcadden@ucdavis.edu Interests: Science and medicine in the Middle Ages; medieval women; gender and sexuality in the Middle Ages.

  • Seeta Chaganti (English) schaganti@ucdavis.edu Interests: Middle English poetry, including Chaucer, the Pearl-poet, and late medieval drama; Old French and Anglo-Norman courtly literature; Old English; devotional art and culture from the twelfth and fourteenth centuries; interdisciplinary studies; poetics; theories of aesthetics and landscape.

  • Catherine Chin (Classics) chin@ucdavis.edu Interests: Early Christian social and intellectual history; early Christian ritual; literary cultures of late antiquity and the early middle ages; history of religious media and text transmission in Western culture; premodern notions of gender, sexuality, and the body; history of religious architecture.

  • Greg Clark (Economics) gclark@ucdavis.edu Interests: World economic history; economic history of India; economic growth since the Middle Ages; the Agricultural Revolution.

  • Allison Coudert (Religious Studies) apcoudert@ucdavis.edu Interests: History of Christianity; religion and science; Jewish-Christian relations; women and religion; comparative mysticism.

  • Linda Egan (Spanish) ldegan@ucdavis.edu Interests: Mexican literature and culture from the colony to the present, including Mexican novel, Mexican poetry, Mexican culture, colonial non-fiction genres (chronicle, essay, testimonial, documentary, journalism); Sor Juana; cultural studies.

  • Margaret Ferguson (Emerita - English) mwferguson@ucdavis.edu Interests: literature and literacy in the period 1400-1700; I also have interests in Dante and Chaucer; and in questions about the transmission of culture (across spaces as well as times and languages) from antiquity through the eighteenth century; in translation theory; in periodization; and in ideologies of gender & race.

  • Cristina González (Spanish) crigonzalez@ucdavis.edu Interests: Medieval and early modern Hispanic literature, history and culture; chronicles and romances in Spain and Latin America; women’s literature in Spain and Latin America; the Spanish empire and the formation of Latino identity.

  • Noah Guynn (French and Italian) ndguynn@ucdavis.edu Old French and Latin literature; medieval philosophy and theology; late-medieval theater, especially farce; sexuality and gender studies; critical theory.

  • Mark Halperin (East Asian Languages and Cultures) mhalperin@ucdavis.edu Interests: Medieval Chinese literature, religion, and literati culture; Han Chinese accounts of border peoples.

  • A. Katie Harris (History) akharris@ucdavis.edu Interests: Spain and Portugal, Mexico and Central America, early modern Europe; cult of saints; sacred archaeology; hagiography; collectors and collecting.

  • Adrienne Martín (Spanish) almartin@ucdavis.edu Interests: Golden Age Spanish literature (sixteenth and seventeenth centuries), with special interests in Cervantes, women writers, sexuality and erotic literature, drama and performance, and humor.

  • Winder McConnell (Emeritus - German; Medieval and Early Modern Studies) wamcconnell@ucdavis.edu Interests: Medieval German heroic epic and courtly romance; chivalry; the hero in the Middle Ages; medieval German manuscripts; translation of medieval German epics into English.

  • Sally McKee (History) sjmckee@ucdavis.edu Interests: Mediterranean slavery, Venice, women’s and family history. Teaching interests: medieval history, medieval and early modern colonization in the Mediterranean.

  • James J. (Jerry) Murphy (Emeritus - English) jermurphy@ucdavis.edu Interests: History of writing instruction; history of rhetoric, especially medieval and Renaissance; medieval universities; manuscript to print; Chaucer.

  • David Nutter (Music) danutter@ucdavis.edu Interests: 16th-century Italian music; secular and sacred vocal music; music for the lute.

  • Marijane Osborn (Emerita - English) mjosborn@ucdavis.edu Interests: Old English and Old Norse literatures, Middle English verse romances, and Chaucer.

  • Jessie Ann Owens (Music) jaowens@ucdavis.edu Interests: Compositional Process in Renaissance Music

  • Andrés Resendez (History) aresendez@ucdavis.edu Interests: Pre- and post-colonial Mexico and U.S.-Mexican relations.

  • Chris Reynolds (Music) chreynolds@ucdavis.edu Interests: music of the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries; questions of ecclesiastical patronage in that period.

  • Kevin Roddy (Emeritus - Medieval and Early Modern Studies) kproddy@ucdavis.edu Interests: Medieval nutrition and, more broadly, farming and food production; desert Fathers, Irish monasticism, and medieval popular religion.

  • Jeffrey Ruda (Emeritus - Art History) jhruda@ucdavis.edu Interests: Art in Italy, 14th–15th centuries. Teaching areas: Art in Italy, 14th–16th centuries; European art, 17th century.

  • Juliana Schiesari (Comparative Literature) jkschiesari@ucdavis.edu Interests: Feminist theory, psychoanalysis, Renaissance and early modern literature, women's literature and cultural studies.

  • Brenda Schildgen (Comparative Literature) bdschildgen@ucdavis.edu Interests: Bible, particularly the New Testament; Dante, Chaucer, and the fourteenth century; hermeneutics; Saint Augustine and the patristic period. Teaching areas: Historical fiction; Bible; Dante; Chaucer; fairy tales and fables; myth and legend.

  • Jocelyn Sharlet (Comparative Literature; Middle East and South Asia Studies) jcsharlet@ucdavis.edu Interests: Arabic literature (6th-15th centuries) and classical Persian literature (9th-15th centuries); lyric poetry and commentary; praise poetry; hunting, gift exchange and invitation poetry; the historical anecdote; prosimetrum; the essay; Islamic thought; fictional narrative; the frame tale; narrative poetry; epic and romance.

  • Baki Tezcan (History; Religious Studies; Middle East and South Asia Studies) btezcan@ucdavis.edu Interests: Islam, political culture of the medieval and early modern West Asia, race and ethnicity in the pre-modern world, and Ottoman intellectual history.

  • David Traill (Emeritus - Classics) datraill@ucdavis.edu Interests: Medieval Latin poetry of the 12th and 13th centuries, particularly lyric, as found in the Carmina Burana, Arundel and other anthologies, and especially in the work of Philip the Chancellor and Walter of Châtillon. Teaching: Medieval Latin; the classical tradition.

  • Claire Waters (English) cmwaters@ucdavis.edu